CTFishTalk.com Forum Index

CTFishTalk.com Forum Index » Boat Repair, Electronics, and Motor Help
Viewing Topic: 1979 Mercury 50HP, Lost...to say the least
View previous topic :: View next topic  
SCUBAshep

PostPosted: Mon Nov 19, 2012 8:39 am    Post subject: 1979 Mercury 50HP, Lost...to say the least Reply with quote

So I had my motor running late July, then had to park it until a few weeks ago do to pregnancy/baby. I went and got it and brought it back to the house to get it winterized. Was attempting to start it back up, when sparks started shooting from the connection on the battery. This has never happened before. One of my buddies said it could be a ground, don't even know where to start since I am new to the boat scene and there are so many wires back there. I feel that if I were to work on this myself I would only make the problem worse. The battery is brand new(doubtful it is bad). So I'm looking for any insight as to a good priced motor mechanic near groton OR if someone on here is a motor mechanic and lives near Groton, and has some free time and is looking for some extra cash. I know this has to be simple for someone who knows anything about motors. It was sitting in a field for almost 2 years, and a buddy of mine with what I would say had an intermediate level of understanding was able to get it running after it not running in that long. I just have never had any experience with this, so I don't understand the motor.(I'm trying to but like I said, I don't want to make the problem worse). Any input would be greatly appreciated, and I thank you for your time. Lucas
NWDarkcloud

PostPosted: Mon Nov 19, 2012 7:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

electric start I would guess ....couple things I would look at
1) see if motor is sezed up... can you use the emergency cord to turn the engine by hand ..not sure how to.... pull the plugs then roate the fly wheel on top by hand if motor moves freely