CTFishTalk.com Forum Index

CTFishTalk.com Forum Index » Fishing Tournaments
Viewing Topic: B.A.S.S. Club Inquiry Goto page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic  
n8cas

PostPosted: Mon Jan 26, 2009 12:40 pm    Post subject: B.A.S.S. Club Inquiry Reply with quote

I'm contemplating joining a club. I was curious if there were any non-boat anglers in clubs on this site, because I would be joining as a non-boat angler. Also, I'm still learning, so I wanted to inquire as to if I'm ready or not to join and what is to be expected from being a member.

A couple guys at the CT Boat (and Fishing - to an extent) Show gave me some good info, but I wanted to know what is to be expected from these clubs (generally speaking of course b/c each club is different in some ways).

My concerns:

joining as a non-boat angler - I'd love to hear anyone if they're a non-boat angler so they can share some of their experiences

Experience worries me the most because, like I said, I'm still learning

Tourney requirements Do you have to make all tourneys?

Stuff like that. Any feedback would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
Justin

PostPosted: Mon Jan 26, 2009 1:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm sure there are a bunch of clubs that are looking for new members to join.

As far as the club I'm a member of (Talcott Mountain), there aren't any outrageous requirements. You do not have to fish every tournament, or show up for every meeting. There is monthly dues and the entry fee for tourneys is on the smaller side. The only requirement is that you participate in 50% of the events, whether they be meetings or tourneys.

Experience is not required to join a club, the club level is more of your entry/learning point for getting into competitive fishing. There are some guys in my club that are beginners at fishing and others that have fished in big events.