CTFishTalk.com Forum Index

CTFishTalk.com Forum Index » Bass Fishing
Viewing Topic: Bass and water temps Goto page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic  
DirtyDawg10

PostPosted: Wed Apr 21, 2010 8:53 am    Post subject: Bass and water temps Reply with quote

I'm new to bass fishing and was just wondering if someone could give me a quick lowdown on what the water temps tell you? I see you guys all talking about it and feel left out Smile I know it must come from experience and no secrets are required in your responses I just would like to know in general. Does it effect the type of lure you throw? The color? or does it just change your presentation and retrieve?

I've picked up a few things just from reading here and some fishing publications...like slowing down a retrieve when it's early spring and water temps are cold. I still feel like I'm missing something. Any insight would be greatly appreciated.
anointed130

PostPosted: Wed Apr 21, 2010 10:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think a lot of the guys with boats use the water temp alot, Put usually in the spring a lot of bass are closer to shore in the warmer water.

Can i be a fisher of fish too?

~Tony~
slimecoat

PostPosted: Wed Apr 21, 2010 10:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Water temperature early and late in the season give you clues as to what "stage" the fish might be in. Small mouth bass will move shallow to spawn when the water reaches the high 50's to low 60's. Largemouth like the temps a little warmer. They will move shallow when the temps reach the low to mid 60's. Colder water temps in the spring usually dictate that you throw slower moving baits, as the cold fish will not move as far or exert as much energy to eat a bait. Fall is a little different, especially if you are on a river. There is much more to it, but those are the basics without getting too crazy or technical.

Hope that helps..........