CTFishTalk.com Forum Index

CTFishTalk.com Forum Index » Bass Fishing
Viewing Topic: Can somone break down the spawn to me beginning to the end.. Goto page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic  
RaMPaGeBaSsMaN

PostPosted: Fri May 16, 2008 11:10 am    Post subject: Can somone break down the spawn to me beginning to the end.. Reply with quote

just wana know sum info i guess its starts this weekend because of the moon? Friend of mind starts fishing again after the spawn thinks it way to easy to catch fish in there beds... Is this true what do u guys do? Sorry total noob to the spawn Rolling Eyes

PostPosted: Fri May 16, 2008 12:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wow, youre question "fishing the spawn from beginning to end" is the topic of numerous full DVDs and books and hundreds of articles in magazines and web sites.

I'll take a stab at getting you started and provide some additional suggestions.

Many lakes in CT are already in full spawn. In fact, smaller lakes with smallmouth bass in them maybe in post spawn already. Many smaller lakes are already in the middle of their largemouth spawn. Because of the swing in weather and fronts the pre-spawn and spawn periods have been inconsistent so far. Generally you can find smallmouth spawing as early as mid April given the right weather conditions but certainly by May 1 in most cases. Largemouth are usually a couple of weeks later but almost certainly begun by the middle of May. The spawn on some lakes lasts into the early part of June some years depending upon the weather conditions.