CTFishTalk.com Forum Index

CTFishTalk.com Forum Index » River Fishing
Viewing Topic: Farmington River Questions... Goto page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Esox CT

PostPosted: Thu May 07, 2009 11:15 pm    Post subject: Farmington River Questions... Reply with quote

I've been working in Avon for 3 years, and I pass by the Farmington River at different spots almost everyday. Yesterday was my first time fishing it. Embarassed I only took my light tackle rod equipped with a small Yozuri gold suspending minnow, my smallie killer! Anyways, the only thing I caught was a bluegill, and I saw a huge trout jump after a bug, and then 2 more times just for fun. Every spot I went to looked like a gem, but I have to say I wasn't impressed. I know the Farmington is a great trout fishery, but I could care less.

Questions:
1. What species are in the Farmington River??
2. Is there a dam that divides the Farmington from the CT. River??
3. What town does the Farmington meet the CT. River??

Any input would be useful to me at this point. If there are bass and pike I'd stop and fish it everyday after work. If not, it's just pretty water to me.
heavyweight80

PostPosted: Fri May 08, 2009 7:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I used to work in Avon and traveled rt10 everyday along the Farmington river. I can honestly say I never caught a thing in over 10yrs of trying. I know if you go back up rt 10 towards Miss Porters and take a right at the second light in the middle of the campus and follow it for about a half mile,there is the Public Town Plots where I've heard of people doing good there. I've fished the once and saw a lot of action in the water,but it was a salmon run and no one was catching a thing. And down the road from there is Tunxis Meade Park where the water is a lot slower and I've seen some monster jumping there. You can give that a shot

PostPosted: Sat May 09, 2009 1:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote