CTFishTalk.com Forum Index

CTFishTalk.com Forum Index » General Topics
Viewing Topic: Kayak vs Canoe?
View previous topic :: View next topic  
chud059

PostPosted: Mon Apr 25, 2011 1:21 pm    Post subject: Kayak vs Canoe? Reply with quote

was reading some of the kayak threads here....

I saw some Ascend brand on sale at Bass Pro Shops, but I've no experience, I'm kind of a big guy...6' 4 about 260ish plus or minus..ha ha....

I figure a conoe would be to cumbersome to take on and off my car roof and I thought I'd be too big for a kayak... any ideas?

Thanks
SeaDog1

PostPosted: Mon Apr 25, 2011 1:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi!

So 6'4" and 260 (+ or -) Very Happy

Yes! I was at West Hill the other day and these 2 fellows came in on this boat.
Both were good size fellows and they had a small 6hp outboard on the boat.

I was surprised Exclamation -> Was the 1st time I'd seen a "Porta-Bote" (folding boat) -> nice looking rig and was quite stable!
USCG approved!

Check it out at www.porta-bote.com

SeaDog1
chud059

PostPosted: Mon Apr 25, 2011 3:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

...maybe a little on the "+".. ha ha.. thanks for the link. I've seen these before and I've heard quite a few positive things about them. I actually forgot about it, I'm glad you sent the link. The other boat I have inquired about was a carolina electric boat...there was a dealer in newington I was going to visit but something came up. I am looking for something affordable and easy to transport. That's all.
PECo

PostPosted: Mon Apr 25, 2011 4:10 pm    Post subject: LOL! Reply with quote

Carolina Electric Boat? Do you mean a Twin Troller? SkeeterRon on this site is the dealer. Very Happy It's a fairly bulky boat. You'd need a trailer or pickup truck to haul it around.