CTFishTalk.com Forum Index

CTFishTalk.com Forum Index » Bait, Tackle, Rods and Reels etc…
Viewing Topic: Line for a jig combo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
toptech

PostPosted: Thu Apr 02, 2009 10:53 am    Post subject: Line for a jig combo Reply with quote

Gonna get out and purchase some line tonight for my new jig rog. As i am kinda new to jig fishing...I would like to know opinions on what line to use. Its will be for throwing jigs close to 3/8oz. Floro, mono, braid? LBS test? Certain companies to go with or stay away from?

Thanks in advance everyone...

PostPosted: Thu Apr 02, 2009 11:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I throw 14lb. floro on my jig rod, unless I'm fishing really snotty stuff like chestnuts, then I use my broomstick with 30lb. braid, but that isn't to often.

Some guys prefer 20+ lb. mono because it slows the rate of fall more than floro, because floro absorbs water and it makes the jig fall faster.

PostPosted: Thu Apr 02, 2009 12:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hmmm good to know gary... I currently use braid but what the hell do i know, im a noob.
toptech

PostPosted: Thu Apr 02, 2009 12:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Im still learning too PD...but one thing I have figured out about fishing is that its all about personal preference and what you feel confident in. You ask questions to get input on things to see what others do but in the end you can never do EXACTLY what they do so you hone your own style from the knolage you gain from others. Like Gary said...he likes floro but he knows others that throw heavy mono so they can present their jig in a way that they feel confident. I personally dont like braid but I know plenty that throw it with great success.

PostPosted: Thu Apr 02, 2009 12:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote