CTFishTalk.com Forum Index

CTFishTalk.com Forum Index » Bass Fishing Reports
Viewing Topic: Little Bantam (Little Pond) - Pike, Pickerel or Pike-erel
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Scorpio

PostPosted: Sun May 18, 2014 11:22 am    Post subject: Little Bantam (Little Pond) - Pike, Pickerel or Pike-erel Reply with quote

Went out in the canoe with my son last week and hit Little Bantam. It was a gorgeous day and the pads/veggies/algae has not overtaken the pond yet so conditions were very good and there was a lot of activity in the water. We hit a few pickerel and some baby Largemouths but I landed this 3.5lber that at first look I assumed was a good sized pickerel but upon further examination I thought it was a pike. Now I'm not so sure it's not a hybrid. The spots look like Pike markings but the tell-tale dark teardrop under the eye is there which screams Pickerel. I'm no expert so I thought I'd throw it out to the group. What do you think?
Crest Daddy

PostPosted: Sun May 18, 2014 2:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

it looks nothing like a pickerel to me.

PostPosted: Sun May 18, 2014 7:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Only caught a few pike myself so I'm no expert, but that's a pike for sure. Nice one
Scorpio

PostPosted: Mon May 19, 2014 6:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the clarification. It's my first pike and it put up one hell of a fight. It kept diving into the veggies and I had to have my son use the net to pull him in. I was using a green pumpkin jig with a Zoom grub trailer. Lots of fun! Thanks again for the help on identifying the species.
DirtyDawg10

PostPosted: Mon May 19, 2014 7:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, that's a pike. Nice healthy one. Good catch! It will be a beast when it grows up.
Scorpio

PostPosted: Mon May 19, 2014 10:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote