CTFishTalk.com Forum Index

CTFishTalk.com Forum Index » Lake Fishing
Viewing Topic: Looking for advice/help Goto page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic  
SAP284

PostPosted: Tue Aug 23, 2011 9:07 pm    Post subject: Looking for advice/help Reply with quote

I am new to leaders for fishing. I kept having trouble catching fish with my braided line since I switched from mono and someone told me today I need a leader...so I guess here are my questions...

I bought some saltwater leader by accident but I am assuming it's the same as freshwater right? It seems clear...I think it's flurocarbon idk...

How long should I do? I think about 2 feet right?

What time of knots should I do to tie them together?? I am used to doing palamor knots but don't think that ill work with tieing two lines together.

Any tips tricks or advice regarding this would be great.

Thanks!
therieldeal

PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2011 7:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

double uni knot?

Still searching for some toothy critters big enough to be worth weighing...
slim2043

PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2011 8:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is the double-uni. I use it to tie leaders and it is very easy to tie. The knot is incredibly strong and its not too bulky. Some times it will get hung up on the rod tip but not really that often where it is a pain.

PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2011 10:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I strongly recommend flourocarbon for leader material. If what you have is flouro, you will know it. The stuff's not cheap and it will say in big letters that it's flourocarbon. Believe me, the manufacturers want you to know. Not only is this material invisible to the fish, but it is extremely abrasion proof. I use 50LB for leader material when pike fishing and it holds up to their teeth where mono or braid would break like thread in comparison.

PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2011 11:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Flipper wrote: