CTFishTalk.com Forum Index

CTFishTalk.com Forum Index » Boat Repair, Electronics, and Motor Help
Viewing Topic: looking for some aluminum welding ?
View previous topic :: View next topic  
SmOoTh OpErAtOr !!!

PostPosted: Wed Jun 06, 2012 12:28 pm    Post subject: looking for some aluminum welding ? Reply with quote

anyone know where i can get some decent priced aluminum welding done to my boat and maybe a custom aluminum kicker bracket and trolling motor bracket ?

thanks

PostPosted: Wed Jun 06, 2012 5:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just a reminder that not all aluminum's are a weldable alloy. And the thinner it is, the more difficult to weld it can be. I have 2 boats of aluminum, one I have tried to weld, the other there is no way I'll even try due to it being so thin. I ended up patching with overlap patches and epoxy and rivets.

And I'm a fairly experienced welder.

PostPosted: Wed Jun 06, 2012 8:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's a all weld tracker grizzly Jon boat it's .100 gauge aluminum Just need a weld rewelded it's starting to crack and I just want to fix it so it doesn't get worse but it was like that when I bought it ! I'm on my second season with it and it hasn't gotten any worse Yet !

PostPosted: Wed Jun 06, 2012 8:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ive used the alumnum sodering rods for makeing parts for my boat there hot S*it item made girders with them and may other parts they work great so long as the parts your joining arnt to thin got some joints on my boat going on 15 years and they havent poped or seperated yet....if its only a couple small parts that need to be joined I still have rods left could give you a hand with it drop me a pm if your interested in trying the stuff out if you want the link for them ill pull the container out tomorow and get addi

PostPosted: Mon Jun 11, 2012 1:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah shur I'd like to know what the stuffs called Whenever you get a chance thanks