CTFishTalk.com Forum Index

CTFishTalk.com Forum Index » Lake Reports
Viewing Topic: Need help
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Beef78

PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2015 12:55 pm    Post subject: Need help Reply with quote

Hello, all! I'm relatively new to ct. Been stationed in groton since last July. I have been doing mostly salt water fishing with a little small pond and stream mixed in. I fish mostly from my kayak. I would like to get into some lake trout fishing but I'm having trouble finding a lake deep enough close to me to hold trout year round. Can anyone recommend a place, preferably in eastern ct where can find lake trout? Preferably with kayak access? Thanks all! PMs are welcome.
Michael

PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2015 9:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No lake trout stocked in CT
Beef78

PostPosted: Wed Aug 12, 2015 8:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bummer. Thanks, though.
stainless51

PostPosted: Wed Aug 12, 2015 4:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That is not true, what about all of the Seeforellen they stocked? The DEEP stocked them in a handful of lakes if I am not mistaken. West Hill, Mashapaug, Highland, East Twin right?
Redneckangler

PostPosted: Wed Aug 12, 2015 7:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

While there are lakes that hold trout, there are none that hold lake trout. That said, I'm not sure what if anything fishes well in the south east of the state this time of year. Maybe check out a local TU meeting. http://www.cttrout.org/localchapters.html
Weekly reports from around CT, the LIS and beyond.
stainless51

PostPosted: Thu Aug 13, 2015 4:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Why arent Seeforellen considered lake trout?
stainless51

PostPosted: Thu Aug 13, 2015 5:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote