CTFishTalk.com Forum Index

CTFishTalk.com Forum Index » General Topics
Viewing Topic: New(ish) and looking for advice to river boating and fishing
View previous topic :: View next topic  
loki008

PostPosted: Thu May 23, 2013 10:15 am    Post subject: New(ish) and looking for advice to river boating and fishing Reply with quote

Good Morning.

Last fall I picked up a 16' trihull that I would like to use mostly on the CT river. I am fairly new to this.

A bit of background to myself. I have had my Safe Boaters Cert since highschool (1997) and owned a boat around that time but its been a while (probably 10 years) since I've been on the water with any regularity on anything other than a kayak. I also have a few kayaks and enjoy pond fishing for SMB and LMB.

I figured I would introduce myself and get any advice, tips or suggestions to the upper CT river. I am currently in Enfield. Previously I lived in Old Lyme and would stick mostly to Old Saybrook to Middletown and didnt use the boat for fishing.

It is my understanding that the Enfield boat launch was hit or miss on launching due to the water levels last season. Is this still true? Also I am VERY rusty with the trailer and I have not launched this boat yet since i purchased it in the fall. Are there any recommended launches to practice on that are more user friendly and recommended times where I can get it down without mucking up everyone else at the launch.

Also I would love any tips for fishing the CT River and what to expect. I know I have missed the Strippers but am curious what I can expect over the summer?

Thanks
anointed130

PostPosted: Thu May 23, 2013 1:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you use the thompsonville boat launch, it's not that busy and not steep at all. It would be a good place to launch. Water level is ok was there on Monday night.

Can i be a fisher of fish too?

~Tony~
loki008

PostPosted: Thu May 23, 2013 1:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

anointed130 wrote: