CTFishTalk.com Forum Index

CTFishTalk.com Forum Index » New Member Section
Viewing Topic: Newbie here - N8cas
View previous topic :: View next topic  
n8cas

PostPosted: Sun Jun 10, 2007 9:10 am    Post subject: Newbie here - N8cas Reply with quote

This site looks perfect for a newbie like me. My name is Nate and I am a 27 yr old from the Newington area. Have been fishing sporadically over the years but got the fever real bad this spring and decided to invest some money into better tackle. I have been a closed-reel guy all my life, but wanted to obviously step it up if I were to get as serious as I'd like. Wanted to get a baitcaster as they resemble the closed-reels I am used to, but was told I'd have too much trouble with this sophisticated reel. Bought an Okuma Stratus open-reel spincaster (SG-30) to go on a medium-heavy Ugly stick rod. I am SLOWLY getting used to it (Everything is entirely different from what I have been used to) I also bought the best closed-reel model I could find for my girlfriend - but really, it's for me when I get too frustrated with my troubling casts on the new open-reel (Abu-Garcia Gold Series Automatic)

I do not have a boat (sux) but also feel I am not quite ready and I am used to shore fishing my whole life - my largest accomplishment was landing a 4lb bass from a small pond in my old neighborhood. Eventually I want to use a boat to get out and actually land my first LM of the year. I'd like fishing to be my new summer hobby as golf is too expensive. I need something like fishing to get my mind off stressful work

In advance, I apologize if some of my posts are not perfect. I have experience on several other similar forums and found that some forum communities are really strict and not kind to newbies which makes me even more reluctant to post, but this site looks to be very patient and forgiving - I hope to gain a lot of good research and info from CTFishTalk.
n8cas