CTFishTalk.com Forum Index

CTFishTalk.com Forum Index » Lake Reports
Viewing Topic: Nod Brook WMA - Lower Pond 07/12
View previous topic :: View next topic  
PECo

PostPosted: Tue Jul 12, 2011 8:16 pm    Post subject: Nod Brook WMA - Lower Pond 07/12 Reply with quote

I had 40 minutes to spend on the water in my Future Beach Trophy 126 kayak while my kids were at their kempo karate class. I launched on the north end of the lower pond. It was still very warm out and there was next to no wind. The glare of the setting sun was incredible. I threw a Stanley Ribbit frog on a Stanley Double Take hook over the weeds, which are a real fishing killer now. I've been fishing at Nod Brook for three years and have never seen the weeds as thick. The normal weeds are now matted with slime weed. Even a weedless frog collects clumps of weeds. I didn't take any tackle with me in my kayak, so I couldn't change out my hook, but the Stanley hook and frog were way too big and heavy for the conditions. I wish that I had taken a wacky rig with me so I could have fished deeper around the edges of the weed mats. After 40 minutes of casting, retrieving and cleaning the weeds off of the frog, I got not a single strike. Nada. Nothing. Squadouche. It was the worst 40 minutes of fishing that I've ever experienced at Nod Brook. I also saw very few fish rising. If I were to go back again, I'd bring a smaller, lighter frog rig and a wacky rig to fish deeper. But that's a big "if". Confused

PostPosted: Tue Jul 12, 2011 9:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

PECo...
Have you had much success with bass at nod? You fish upper or lower?