CTFishTalk.com Forum Index

CTFishTalk.com Forum Index » Bass Fishing
Viewing Topic: Really need a bass, please help! Goto page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Zach0208

PostPosted: Thu Jun 28, 2012 9:38 am    Post subject: Really need a bass, please help! Reply with quote

I am new to fishing, but I've read some books and watch some videos. I never have a teacher to learn from so I have to figure out everything myself. I have caught some trout, pickerel and perch, but never a bass, even though I was targeting bass recently, really frustration. I have used rapala lures, spinnerbait, frogs, and Slug-gos, but none gave me a bass.

I have a kayak, and I often go to Bolton Lake and Mansfield Hollow, anyone have some advice? Cool
SAP284

PostPosted: Thu Jun 28, 2012 10:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mansfield Hollow in my opinion is a good place for bass if you go there often. It also can be a heavy yellow perch spot too. I'm surprised you haven't run into any bass with that setup. What depths are you fishing? Just keep being persistent, eventually you will hit them. Depending on the time of day, depth, and temp the bass locations might vary. If you are using frogs over pads when it's hot, that's a good way to hit a few (also very fun!). I don't think Mansfield has pads though. Try some shallow shad raps or anything that dives 3-5 feet in a shady shallow area during the day. Spinnerbaits work well too but I have spinnerbait fear syndrome Rolling Eyes . Good luck. I've been stuck on crankbaits since the spring since they've been producing.

PostPosted: Thu Jun 28, 2012 10:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just keep doing what you're doing, I'm sure you'll catch a bass. Enjoy being out on the water in this nice weather!!
PECo

PostPosted: Thu Jun 28, 2012 10:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Fish a frog over pads or shallow weeds at twilight. Start at 7:00 pm.