CTFishTalk.com Forum Index

CTFishTalk.com Forum Index » General Topics
Viewing Topic: Sit on Top vs Sit inside Kayaks? Goto page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic  
korrupt3dazn

PostPosted: Tue Apr 19, 2011 10:58 am    Post subject: Sit on Top vs Sit inside Kayaks? Reply with quote

looking to do some fishing but not sure what I want...
Basstrapper

PostPosted: Tue Apr 19, 2011 11:06 am    Post subject: new to kayaking Reply with quote

yah im new to kayaking. Ijust bought my first one last week. and have only taken it out once. I got a pelican Sit inside, 10'1/2 feet. man its nice. If you plan on going out on days with any waves or desent ripples on the water. your going to want a sit inside. My buddies sit on top is nice. but you will get wet. no cover from the weather. so your just getting cooked and wet all the time. with the sit inside. you have options. skirts, and what not. and you have better storage capabilities. if you really wana get a lot of fishing done in different areas. Sit Inside is the way to go. so much you can do with it.
PECo

PostPosted: Tue Apr 19, 2011 12:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sinks are more stable, but sots are self-bailing if you were to dump. If I could have only one kayak, I'd get a Wilderness Systems Pungo 120 Angler or a Hobie i9s. Either one would do everything I need a kayak to do.

PostPosted: Tue Apr 19, 2011 12:43 pm    Post subject: was a tuff decision Reply with quote

yah i had a hard time deciding which to go with. sot, or sit inside. but the extra cover and added stuff room. i had to go with sit inside. i know im going to be squeezing in on the really tight streams. the sit inside. allows me to go head first into the abyss without thinking twice. except for the occasional look out for bee hives and tree snakes. otherwise just push through. Smile

self bailing is nice though. flip it rightside up on the tipovers. but i dont plan on tipping over any time soon. Smile