CTFishTalk.com Forum Index

CTFishTalk.com Forum Index » River Reports
Viewing Topic: Stripers
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Billy H

PostPosted: Tue Apr 13, 2010 6:25 pm    Post subject: Stripers Reply with quote

I'm new to this Ct. Fish Talk. I have been out twice so far for stripers and between my buddy and myself were starting to get them in the boat. The first day out last week we put a 26 inch stiper in the boat. I caught 5 this past Sunday with the largest being 22 inches. You still have to cover a lot of ground to find them but there here. This is from Hartford North to Windsor.
Lunker Cove

PostPosted: Tue Apr 13, 2010 10:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dude striper are already running? u ever fish behind barts in windsor?
fishingmaniac12

PostPosted: Wed Apr 14, 2010 8:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's still pretty early for stripers. Give it a couple weeks and they will be everywhere along with everyones dream 50 incher!
CTPete

PostPosted: Wed Apr 14, 2010 9:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

First time poster here....

Took the (new to me) Starcraft Superfisherman 17' out this past week....put in at Bissell Bridge and went up to mouth of Farmington....slow there....headed up near the mouth of Scantic and got into some fish.....picked up a 26" striper and a 32-34" pike......a beautiful day but really, really windy.....can't wait to get back to that area....and for the hog stripers to start moving in.

Took both fish on a wild-eye shad swim bait......did get several hard strikes (real light tackle and tough hookset) on jerkbaits crawled deep, but might try more stout tackle next time.
Just4fun

PostPosted: Wed Apr 14, 2010 9:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Welcome to the forum Pete,..nice report!! Cool