CTFishTalk.com Forum Index

CTFishTalk.com Forum Index » Bass Fishing
Viewing Topic: Suggestions for good walk-up spots?
View previous topic :: View next topic  
fishingeek

PostPosted: Thu Jul 26, 2007 8:19 am    Post subject: Suggestions for good walk-up spots? Reply with quote

Hey folks. As my thread over in the introductions stated, I'm just starting to get back into fishing. I'm originally from Mass, so I spent a lot of time fishing Quabin, 1,000 acre Swamp, several lakes in the area, and 5-mile pond (practically my back yard then).

Basically what I'm getting at is that, at this point, I really don't know any good spots yet. I've fished a little of the inlet at Bluff Point in Groton, and other than that I'm a CT fishing newbie. I've got no boat, so walk-up access is a must. I lean more towards bass, and would like to try to go after some pike sometime. A buddy of mine, who's also interested in starting up, sounds like he may be slightly more interested in Trout.

So: can anyone suggest any good spots, with walk-up access, within 10 or 20 miles of Bristol? I think we may check out Crescent Lake over the weekend (my buddy's from Southington, so access is free at least).
admin
Site Admin

PostPosted: Thu Jul 26, 2007 8:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hmmm... i dont make it over that way much... If you are ever up for a nice ride come up to the north west corner of CT and Fish The following...

Largemouth Bass:
Lakeville Lake -(they rent row boats)
Mudge Pond - its some 3 or 4 pull off spots

Smallies & Pike

Housatonic River any wheres from north of the power plant to south of kent and further... There are a ton of pull off spots north and south on Rt 7
and also on some back roads that also run along the river. Personally i have had great luck just north of the power plant and just south of the power plant.