CTFishTalk.com Forum Index

CTFishTalk.com Forum Index » Ice Fishing Reports
Viewing Topic: Bashan Lake?
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Maximillion

PostPosted: Sat Nov 27, 2010 3:19 pm    Post subject: Bashan Lake? Reply with quote

Im new to ice fishing and Im about to go purchase my first ser of gear for it sometime in early december. I was just wondering if anyone on this forum Ice fishes Bashan lake? I do in the summer and spring and I know its really deep and clear but I dont know where to locate the fish in winter or what bait to use any advice would help thank you
dave_376

PostPosted: Sat Nov 27, 2010 9:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have never fished bashan on ice but I would be careful, the launch area is running water....make sure it is good and frozen or you might end up wet and cold in waist deep water.

I would imagine the fishing would be fairly productive from the launch to the island. I would set up as many tip-ups as you can (5) + use one rod to jig.
mostly Ice

PostPosted: Thu Dec 09, 2010 11:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bashan usually takes longer than the surrounding lakes and ponds to freeze up. I think it's depth, size and wind make it take longer to freeze compared to Moodus Res, Hayward, and Babcock. The middle takes a long time to freeze, don't be fooled into thinking its safe just because you see people in the coves.
dave_376

PostPosted: Thu Dec 09, 2010 2:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moodus is drawn down for dam repair and they also drew Bashan way down, I don't think you could launch an inner tube as a result Laughing you would rub your hinny to the end of the inlet.

If you go to any of these lakes this winter and the water is at normal pool be very careful because it may be unsafe going from low to full.
mostly Ice

PostPosted: Thu Dec 09, 2010 6:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote