CTFishTalk.com Forum Index

CTFishTalk.com Forum Index » New Member Section
Viewing Topic: New to fishing
View previous topic :: View next topic  
shelts9

PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2012 11:21 am    Post subject: New to fishing Reply with quote

Just wanted to introduce myself and say hi. I'm a complete novice (fished a few times) so I'll be asking some questions regarding equipment.in the coming weeks. I just got my license to fish in all waters, so the next thing to do, is get some gear.

I live in Shelton, and have access to a boat, but I'm very keen to explore lakes and ponds all over the state.

Thanks for reading.
perfect hook set

PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2012 11:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

welcome Laughing

PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2012 4:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Welcome from someone who works in Shelton.

and standing on the shore like an idiot!
Michael

PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2012 8:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Welcome to CTFT and the sport of fishing
CT_BASSman

PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2012 8:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Welcome neighbor! I am a stones throw away in Derby.
ripline

PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2012 8:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Welcome shelts9.

Ask away, hopefully someone here will be able to answer your questions.

Try to stop at TC Marine on River Rd. They may be able to help you out with some info as well.
DirtyDawg10

PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2012 10:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Welcome aboard!
shelts9

PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2012 7:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the warm welcome.

I apologize if i'm posting this in the wrong section.

I've been researching rods and reels but I'm not sure if I should get 2 rods, one for freshwater and one for salt water. As a beginner, is this necessary, or is there an alternate solution?

Now on to reels... should I start off with a spin caster or spinning? Can I use the same reel for both rods?