CTFishTalk.com Forum Index

CTFishTalk.com Forum Index » Bait, Tackle, Rods and Reels etc…
Viewing Topic: New to fishing, advice on buying a rod?
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Red Shark

PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2012 3:26 pm    Post subject: New to fishing, advice on buying a rod? Reply with quote

Hello, I'm fairly new to fishing so I was wondering what sorts of rods would be good for me? My budget is about $30-$40. I want to be able to catch larger fish.

I went fishing yesterday on the CT River with some friends, and caught about 2 trout (I think) but quite painfully as the line kept getting tangled at the reel whenever I tossed it out into the water.

Any suggestions on something that won't tangle up on me would be good.

Thanks!
Mattyk182

PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2012 3:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

$40 will get you an Ugly Stik combo rod which is terrific for the price. You can find one at your local Walmart with the rod and reel ready to go.

PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2012 3:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ditto, Usually a lot of people are sailing items on here as well. If you keep your eye open you can get a good deal.

Can i be a fisher of fish too?

~Tony~
SAP284

PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2012 7:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The other thing to consider is what type of line you are using. If its getting tangled, it might not always be the pole/reel.

Are you using mono, braided, fluro?

If you are using a mono on a spinning reel, its quite possibly that's why it keeps getting tangled because they tend to have memory on them (some).

Depending on what you are fishing for will also depend on the setup you are looking to get. If you think you are going to stick with Bass, Panfish you can go with a medium setup....trout would be more of a light setup. Anything else I would go with a heavy setup.

Right now I am running 3 rods.

Spinning Shimano Reel - MH rod, 30lb Braided Line, with 20lb Flurocarbon