CTFishTalk.com Forum Index

CTFishTalk.com Forum Index » River Fishing
Viewing Topic: Silly question on spawning...
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Mattyk182

PostPosted: Thu May 24, 2012 5:12 pm    Post subject: Silly question on spawning... Reply with quote

I know this might be a dumb question but I'm still learning. How do you know when fish are spawning? I can't find anything when searching google. Also, what is bad about them spawning? Does that mean they lose their appetite and don't go after anything when you're fishing? I hear a lot of people talking about it and have no clue how it affects fishing. Thanks to anyone that can explain it to me in layman terms .

PostPosted: Sat May 26, 2012 7:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

what species do you mostly target? As a bass fisherman I can tell you that weather, water temp and even the moon phase can all play rolls in when certain fish will actually spawn. The spawn for bass usually consists of the smaller male and a larger female. Often the male will make the bed, female will move in after. Yes they can be caught when they are on beds. not all fish spawn at the same time.....some come in waves. The bass spawn should just be rapping up...then comes post spawn conditions when the fishing can be kinda tough until the are in the summer patterns. If you have a specific species say pike your interested in im certain there are a number of books or articles about this outhere. goodluck!
Mattyk182

PostPosted: Sun May 27, 2012 7:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hoppy wrote: