CTFishTalk.com Forum Index

CTFishTalk.com Forum Index » Bait, Tackle, Rods and Reels etc…
Viewing Topic: Senko
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Dan

PostPosted: Sun Jul 22, 2012 9:47 pm    Post subject: Senko Reply with quote

So, I'm new with this whole fishing thing and I'm a bit confused about Senko. I want to make sure that I'm using it appropriately and not wasting it.

I'm currently shore fishing for LMB using it in conjunction with a size 2/0 offset shank hooks; I haven't even had so much as a nibble. Tried rigging Texas and Wacky styles.

Am I using too big of a hook? Using bait too big for shore fishing? Not patient enough? Just wait it out and it'll eventually happen?
SAP284

PostPosted: Mon Jul 23, 2012 6:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

For wacky I use 3/0 octopus circle hooks. You do have to be patient. Also, what type/size worm you using? I usually go with 4" or 5" with 5" being th more popular.

PostPosted: Mon Jul 23, 2012 8:48 am    Post subject: Re: Senko Reply with quote

Dan wrote:
I'm currently shore fishing for LMB using it in conjunction with a size 2/0 offset shank hooks; I haven't even had so much as a nibble.

SAP284 wrote:
For wacky I use 3/0 octopus circle hooks.

Wow! Those are some BIG hooks. Try a Gamakatsu Number 4 Octopus Circle Hook and an O-ring. Here's a short I caught with that rig in the evening on Saturday:

Like most of the fish that I catch with a wacky rigged Senko, it was hooked in the corner of the mouth. Yes, I get the occasional gut hooked fish, but only when I'm not paying enough attention to gently set the hook immediately after the fish picks up the Senko. That's why I always bring hemostats with me. If you can't find O-rings, I've read that small zip ties work well, too.