CTFishTalk.com Forum Index

CTFishTalk.com Forum Index » Bass Fishing
Viewing Topic: A few fish but still productive
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Kimberultra

PostPosted: Sun Jun 16, 2013 9:40 pm    Post subject: A few fish but still productive Reply with quote

I spent most of the day at bigelow pond. I usually bottom fish the ct river and mess around with jigs and senkos but I don't top water a whole lot since all of my rigs are heavier.

The bottom of bigelow was too snaggy so I took out a few tiny torpedoes, a popper, a yellow perch clackin minnow and a spinnerbait.

Was getting hits on alot of my surface stuff but I haven't quite mastered setting the hook with such light lures. The spinnerbait get hit hard on the first cast. A good sized crappie. I was thrilled because I have zero top water experience.

I left bigelow and hit cabelas and got a few more spinners and a Zara puppy bass pattern. I went to walker res before sundown on the waterfall side. As soon as the Zara spook hit the water it got hit hard. I wasn't quite ready and the fish took off into thick cover and I lost it. I got a few hard hits on the tiny torpedoes and eventually lost one in a downed tree.

Do any if you have tips on setting the hook on top water stuff. I was told to hesitate for a second before you set when you see it get hit but it didnt seem to work.
therieldeal

PostPosted: Sun Jun 16, 2013 9:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What i normally do is wait a second to see which direction the fish moves with the lure... for example if they move to your left, set the hook with your rod top low and to the right. With the rod tip too high you'll pull the lure right out of their mouth more often than not.

Still searching for some toothy critters big enough to be worth weighing...
Kimberultra

PostPosted: Sun Jun 16, 2013 10:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote