CTFishTalk.com Forum Index

CTFishTalk.com Forum Index » Lake Reports
Viewing Topic: Candlewood: help please!
View previous topic :: View next topic  
FishAllDay

PostPosted: Fri Jul 12, 2013 4:44 pm    Post subject: Candlewood: help please! Reply with quote

Before I start asking questions, I understand that everyone has secret lures/spots and if you don't want to disclose them that is completely fine.

So, this is my first year fishing Candy and I love it so far, beautiful lake, clean, plenty of potential good fishing spots. The problem is I've never fished anything this big before and my small lake/pond tactics are not working. My first trip out I caught a few decent size smallies and a largemouth but have had trouble since. I know I need to put in the "time and work" into finding the fish but I feel more and more helpless each time I go out. There are multiple tournaments a weekend here so there has to be fish right! Here is what I have been doing this summer (any criticism is accepted!)

-fishing every shallow cove with various rapala's, spinners and plastic worms
-fishing next to docks with gary yamamoto's
-fishing shallow areas marked with hazard bouys (usually rocky)
-and as a last resort fishing with minnows (the only thing that seems to work!)
-also if someone could explain what dropshotting is and if its a common tactic at Candy

I understand the fishing depends on conditions (temp, weather, season), but I only have another month till I have to go back to school so I'm desperate to start landing some fish. My dad loves fishing and I've been dying to have a great day of fishing with him but we even got skunked on fathers day! I'm considering hiring a guide to take me around for a day just to see what sort of tactics he uses so that I can use them with my dad. Before I put that kind of money down I'd like to see if any of you could help me! Any tips at all would be much appreciated and if you'd rather PM me go ahead. Thanks in advance!

-Sean
Michael