CTFishTalk.com Forum Index

CTFishTalk.com Forum Index » Bait, Tackle, Rods and Reels etc…
Viewing Topic: What line should I use?
View previous topic :: View next topic  
n8cas

PostPosted: Mon Jun 25, 2007 1:27 pm    Post subject: What line should I use? Reply with quote

What Line should I be using ??

Considering:

* I mostly fish from shore (heavy brush and wood areas)
* When I'm on the lake I'm mostly fishing near/in heavily underwater veg.
* My reel is an Okuma Stratus SGT-30 8 +1 ballbearings 5.0 to 1 gear ratio
* My rod is a Shakespeare UglyStik Lite SP 1170-1MH 7 ft Medium Heavy
* I'm new to spincasting reels and am having trouble casting far (in comparison to closed-faced (old push-the-button) reels using the same lure

Any suggestions?
chuckc
Forum Police

PostPosted: Mon Jun 25, 2007 2:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Braid.
You Can use a small diameter line that is super strong.
n8cas

PostPosted: Mon Jun 25, 2007 6:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

someone told me, I think at Dick's to get Braid, but then when I asked the guy who worked at Dick's he said to go with Vanish/non memory by Berkley - 10lb test.

Should I be looking at a particular color?
SkeeterJim

PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2007 9:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

[quote="n8cas"]someone told me, I think at Dick's to get Braid, but then when I asked the guy who worked at Dick's he said to go with Vanish/non memory by Berkley - 10lb test.