CTFishTalk.com Forum Index

CTFishTalk.com Forum Index » Bass Fishing
Viewing Topic: Hollow bodied frogs.
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Dozer02

PostPosted: Fri Jul 04, 2014 12:05 pm    Post subject: Hollow bodied frogs. Reply with quote

Greetings folks, I just wanted to share some of my thoughts on one of my favorite post-spawn/summer techniques, those squishy frogs that some of us often forget to deploy when the temps rise in the summer months. I'm a topwater fanatic of all types, there are very few bass techniques that can get my heart racing like the explosion of a fat bass on my surface presentation. I've been using hollow bodied frogs for over 35 years now and the best part is that they keep evolving into more enticing morsels that bass just can't seem to resist! Just after the spawn, I'll always have a hollow frog tied on a heavy action rod spooled with #20 test flourocarbon line in the boat. These baits are at their best when fished in thick, sloppy weedbeds, twisted hydrilla or lilly pad clusters but all too often, they go unused in open water, this is a huge mistake! More often than not, the surface of the water may look like a mirror in the summer but underneath that seemingly open, barren water, there's likely a complex variety of bass holding structure, it doesn't have to be much, a submerged weedbed can hold a ton of big bass, you'll never even know it's there if you can't see it. This is where your electronics help. There are many other forms of structure that can be there as well, like submerged rocks, roadbeds or timber. Weedbeds, both submerged and boyant, provide bass with virtually everything they like/need. Shade, ambush cover, forage and abundant oxygen are the essentials of a bass's survival, weedbeds provide all of the above in excess. When you're plowing your frog or other weedless bait through that slop, remember to keep in mind that those same sloppy weeds are almost always present below the water line as well, it'll seem like