CTFishTalk.com Forum Index

CTFishTalk.com Forum Index » Bass Fishing Reports
Viewing Topic: Another Mondo Pig
View previous topic :: View next topic  
tricky912

PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2014 12:44 pm    Post subject: Another Mondo Pig Reply with quote

I apologize in advance for the novel, but I was in a writing mood today.

After a recent trip to PA, where I had a considerable luck fishing lake wallenpaupack after dark on top water, I thought I'd give mondo a visit at night. I arrived about 9pm with my son. I was a little discouraged by lack of fish breaking water. I expected to see, or at least hear more activity.

We worked a few of our normal spots. As luck would have it, my son cracked a guide on his ultra light. He was using my 6' med mitchell rod that i have been fishing with for the last 20+ years, fitted with 6lb test mono. Certainly nothing special, but don't think i will ever get rid of it. I was basically using a back up rod. A 6.5ft shakespear rod fitted with a bottom of the line shimano reel and 30lb braid. I normally use it for schoolie stripers or to snag bunker. My son was fishing a combination of senkos and top water poppers. I was on a black and yellow sexy frog.

No action at the 1st few spots. Seemed the only bite that was on was that of the mosquito variety. We moved to another spot. It was so dark that I had to rely on memory to get close to a structure that i wanted to fish. I was using a steady walk the dog retrieve. On about the 10th cast, I heard a relatively small splash in the direction of my lure, followed shortly by what felt like a truck on the end of my rod.