CTFishTalk.com Forum Index

CTFishTalk.com Forum Index » Ice Fishing Reports
Viewing Topic: First time out at Wethersfield Cove
View previous topic :: View next topic  
imsafanct

PostPosted: Mon Jan 12, 2015 7:55 am    Post subject: First time out at Wethersfield Cove Reply with quote

I've been "ice fishing" before, if you call standing around a small grill drinking beer and not really caring about catching fish "ice fishing".

Yesterday I went ICE FISHING, for real. I drilled my own holes, setup my own tip-ups with live shiners and jigged for pan fish. No flags in the two hours I was there, but I managed two perch jigging a Lindy Frostee.

I didn't know what to expect as I've never done this before, but everything worked great. Now I have a comfort level and confidence to know how to do it and I'm looking forward to this coming weekend.

Very fun!

-Eric
fishin

PostPosted: Mon Jan 12, 2015 3:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You picked a slow day to get started on the ice. I was out there from about 1 to 5:30 right off the end of the yacht club with large shiners and jigging. Got 2 perch and a smelt all on orange teardrops. There were a decent number of people out there but I dont think I saw a single flag.
imsafanct

PostPosted: Mon Jan 12, 2015 4:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was closer to the channel markers than I probably should have been, trying to work the West end of the shallow weedy shoal that comes out from the Eastern edge of the cove. We got into pike there this past Summer. The group next to me (shallower, closer to the highway) had a flag or two while I was there and managed either a pickerel or a small pike. I ran into another guy I know on my way out who had been there all morning and he said it was slow for his group as well. On to next week!

-Eric
Michael

PostPosted: Mon Jan 12, 2015 9:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What was the ice thickness and color?
moose444